South Dakota

Home / Post License / South Dakota

Filter By
Select Your State
Education Type
Course Type



South Dakota Requirements:
Total Hours Mandatory Elective Hours
You Need: 60 60 0
We Offer: 39 39 0
Packages
Total Hours Elective Hours Price Add To Cart
30-Hr. SD Post-Licensing Package
Mandatory Hours: 30

30 0 $149
Individual Courses
Total Hours Elective Hours Price Add To Cart
Advocating for Short Sale Clients
Approval # 4061R316
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Code of Ethics in Action: Real-Life Applications
Approval # 4739R420
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 0

4 4 $39
Code of Ethics: Good For Your Clients and Your Business
Approval # 431R317
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Diversity: Your Kaleidoscope of Clients
Approval # 3561R316
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Going Green: The Environmental Movement in Real Estate
Approval # 3549R319
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Marijuana in Real Estate
Approval # 4740R320
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 0

3 3 $29
Marketing, Advertising, and Social Media Compliance
Approval # 4603B419
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 0

4 4 $29
Personal Safety
Approval # 4387R318
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Real Estate Investors and Your Business
Approval # 3789B317
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 1

3 2 $29
Residential Property Management Essentials
Approval # 4386R418
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 4

4 0 $35
Sign Here: Contract Law on E-Signatures
Approval # 4062R316
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Title and Escrow: Two Families, One Transaction
Approval # 3551R319
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Uncle Sam Has Homes for Sale: Listing and Selling HUD Homes
Approval # 3646R319
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $29
Commercial Ethics
Approval # 4316R17
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $39
Commercial Landlord Representation
Approval # 4130R319
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 3

3 0 $39
Investment Strategies in Commercial Real Estate
Approval # 4166B316
Course Details
Mandatory Hours: 1

3 2 $39

South Dakota State Requirement Details for New Broker Associate Real Estate Post-Licensing

Post-Licensing Education and License Renewal Date: 11/30 every two years

Hours Required By The State: 60 hours

For the first two licensing periods after initial licensure, new Broker Associates need to complete a total of 60 hours of Post-Licensing education; 30 hours in each of the first two licensing periods.

The CE Shop's Offering: 39 hours

Please Note: Only the mandatory course credits count towards post-licensing education.

Final Exams: Final exams must be passed with at least an 80% and may be taken as many times as necessary in order to pass. 

Reporting: Real estate course completions are reported to the South Dakota Real Estate Commission. The state requires schools to report course completions within seven to ten days from the course completion date. Course completions will be reported and posted within this time frame.

Expiration Date of Course: Course expiration dates vary by course but are generally one year after order date.  Each course has an individual expiration date which is listed in your account.

Certificates: Upon completion of the course, The CE Shop will provide students with an electronic Certificate of Completion, upon completion of the course. Certificates will remain in your account for a minimum of five years, should you need additional copies. Please refer to your license renewal application to determine if you need to submit your Certificate of Completion with your license renewal request. Course completion dates are recorded using Central Standard Time. Please note that the date of your Certificate of Completion will reflect this.

Additional Licensing Information:

License Renewal Process: The process to renew in this state is to submit your paper work via mail.

Renewal Interruptions: Licensees who wait until the last minute of their renewal year to complete their education may not receive their new license in time to remain on active status. If it is your year to renew, renewal forms MUST be in the SD REC office by Nov 30th of that year.

Repeating Courses: Education hours that are used to activate a license may not be used again to renew a license. 

South Dakota Real Estate Commission

221 W. Capitol, Ste. 101
Pierre, SD 57501
Phone: 605.773.3600
FAX: 605.773.4356

Email: dlr.realestate@state.sd.us

Lookup License Info Online: https://sdrec.sd.gov/registration/licenseelist.aspx

License Renewal: http://dlr.sd.gov/bdcomm/realestate/license_renewal.aspx